HostGator Cloud Hosting Review 2021 – Cheap Hosting for WordPress Site

HostGator is a well-known web hosting service. HostGator has multiple plans to choose from and here, we are going to give you the complete details and our HostGator Cloud Hosting Review will give all information about its price and features.

This HostGator Cloud is an improved version of its shared hosting option. As per their statement, it is their fast and reliable hosting than their regular hosting.

For the past four months, they delivered a 100% uptime and 2 years of excellent performance. The HostGator does not compromise on the loading speeds and provides an average page loading time of 399 m / s.

Their Customer support is too friendly and they are providing a free site migration. These things make them stand out from the other hosting services that we have reviewed. The one thing that you have to be aware of is their extra fees. It will come as a pop-up message when you have to renew your plan.

Here, we have provided a deep analysis of the HostGator Cloud’s performance over the past 24 months. Have a look at our HostGator Cloud Review.

Positive
  • VERY Strong Uptime of 99.99%
  • Top 5 Load Times (Only 399ms)
  • Special Discounted Pricing
  • Very User-Friendly Hosting
  • FREE Extras: Server Resource Management, Monitoring, and Site Migrations
  • Good, Friendly Support
Negatives
  • Introductory Price Hikes & High Renewal Rates

Hosting Overview

Speed270ms (February 2020 to January 2021 average)
Uptime99.99%
Support24/7 Live Chat
FeaturesUnmetered bandwidth and storage, email accounts, free domain 1st year, SSL Security
AppsWordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and Magento
Site TransferSingle Free Site Transfer
Hosting PlansShared, Cloud, WordPress, VPS, and Dedicated Servers
PricingStarting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.95/mo)

Pros of Using HostGator Cloud Hosting

We have experienced an excellent uptime and page loading times on our HostGator Cloud Hosting Review. You will get many additional features with HostGators that you won’t get in other web hosting providers. 

In addition to this, you will get an exclusive discount that will make the price of this advanced host to the cheap level. Let’s have a look at the highlights of the HostGator Cloud Hosting Review here,

1. Amazing Uptime of 99.99% 

We have experienced about an uptime average of 99.99% on our 12 months review. The amazing thing is that it delivered about 100% scores across the board in the last eight months.

The only downtime occurred in April and May 2020 months, below their 99.80% uptime guarantee for only once during our 12-month testing.

Let’s have a look at how the uptime guarantee works.

You will get a payment credit for an entire month if their average uptime about the month is below 99.90%. Things like planned maintenance and fluke events are not included in this. It’s good to know that they are willingly standing behind their customers if the hosting performance slips temporarily.

You will get a different Network Guarantee from them if you are using one of their VPS or dedicated servers.

Have a look at the 12-month average uptime that we received on our HostGator Cloud Hosting Review.

  • January 2021 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • October 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • September 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • June 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • May 2020 average uptime: 99.84%
  • April 2020 average uptime: 99.76%
  • March 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2020 average uptime: 100%
Uptime HostGator Cloud Review

2. Top 5 Load Times (Only 300ms)

You will get many extra features on their standard Shared servers. However, the excellent one is their Speed.

The Cloud offers a 2x faster load time because of the presence of extra features. These features include, low-density servers, premium hardware, and multiple caching layers.

Shared plans are disappointing in this field. It delivered a low 1113ms average load time. To be honest, this is a very low speed and your page will take at least a second to load. This makes a doubtful decision that this Cloud will give a 2x faster load time? From our 12 months HostGator Cloud Hosting review, we reviewed that uptime.

We received a 300ms speed from the HostGator Cloud and that is enough to keep them in the place of top five fastest web hosts. If you are unclear, have a look at our month-by-month breakdown below.

The average load times from the past 12-months:

Load times HostGator Cloud Review

3. Special Introductory Discount Pricing

HostGator Cloud is making their excellent service with the great uptime and page speeds. 

Then, why is it not preferred by other people? That’s because of its cost. 

You can get their Cloud option starting at $4.95/month and ends at $9.95/month. Even if you get a long term plan, this price would still apply. Because of this reason, most of the people will go for the shared hosting, instead.

hostgator cloud web hosting plans

4. User-Friendly Hosting

HostGator Cloud will give a place to the new users with their beginner-friendly service, and it performs like an advanced one. 

With Cloud Plan, you will get unmetered bandwidth and storage. This is not available on other less expensive plans. This, you won’t get penalized when your site grows. 

In general, more resources are required for the larger sites, which likewise result in landing on a more expensive plan. This is different from the HostGator Cloud. Here also you will meet the limitations on each plan about the number of sites you want to host.

Thus, you will get a cheap hosting option if you have a single site to host and this would remain the same as your site becomes a best in 10 websites. And, you won’t get any extra charge while using the additional resources.

When you compare this feature to another managed wordpress hosting like WP Engine, HostGator stands the best. However, they will charge you the overage fees, if you cross the monthly plan limits. The bad thing is these fees are often automatic. Hence, if you get good traffic, you will be penalized.

When it comes to HostGator Cloud, it will give an all-in price, which is different from the cheaper hosts which only help you in reducing your bucks.

5. FREE Extras: Integrated Caching, Data Monitoring, Server Resource Management, and Automated Failover

Experience a fast peformance with the HostGator Cloud hosting as they are not depending on your basic servers.

They have an integrated caching, cloud resource management, and data mirroring on their data centre. This will togetherly optimise the speed and ensure availability. 

Hostgator Cloud Hosting Features

HostGator Cloud features a server monitoring and automated “failover” which will inform you as soon as possible and they also have another plan to save your site.

New email accounts and cPanel access is included in all plans. In addition to this, you will get a free site or cPanel migration from your existing web hosting provider.

A free single site migration is included in all HostGator cloud hosting. You will also get extra migration for free with other hosting providers and some with hosting providers will cost you for migration. So, HostGator Cloud is standing in the middle.

You can also migrate any size and they will cost you for about  ~$25/site. It depends mainly on the number of files and their size.

The negative thing is that HostGator cannot move some sites like the site which lacks the FTP and/or databases. It also includes the site from Wix, Microsoft Office, VistaPrint, Intuit, MobileMe & Google Sites.

6. Good, Friendly Support

With HostGator, you will get 24/7/365 support from a knowledge base and many other supports like video tutorials, phone support, and live chat.

We have also tested their live chat support for our HostGator Cloud Hosting Review. Within 5 minutes we got connected to an agent to help in solving our queries. Their overall support was too good and they have answered most of our questions.

Then we raised some questions about the site migrations. We have reviewed some web hosts and they offered at least one free site migration. HostGator Cloud is also among them.

If any hosts are unable to move your site’s for free, they will charge you a simple fee to have sites moved for you.

When we raised the question about the site migration, we received the answer as an estimated ~$25/site.

Thus, their live chat support service was able to answer all our questions.

There’s one final bit of good news here. When we first reviewed HostGator, they did not offer any social media support. But now, they are very responsive to social, answering individual issues multiple times a day

Cons of Using HostGator Cloud Hosting

Their overall performance was most impressive. However, they do have some negatives too. 

The primary thing is, higher prices for short-term plans and high renewal rates when your first term expires. Next, they have removed some additional features and now you have to pay them to get them. 

Introductory Price Hikes & High Renewal Rates

You can save more on their hosting if you know the right path to locate the common pricing plays that plague the industry.

You always pay for the introductory rate that you see on a host’s site. This is a low price when compared to the monthly price. If you want to take this advantage, you have to prepay for at least two or three years.

For example, HostGator Cloud Hosting will cost $4.95/mo 36 months and it renews at $8.95/mo.

Billing Cycle HostGator Cloud Review

When you select a perfect host, get through the three-year rate for as long as possible.

But, for what?

Though the pricing is the primary issue, monthly renewal rates are more than that. If your current term ends, your plan will renew automatically for $8.95/month for the same service. You won’t get anything more or any improvements on your plan.

hostgator cloud hosting renewal pricing

So, before selecting a hosting plan, you have to be sure that you are satisfied with the features and make the payment for the longest possible term to save more.

HostGator Cloud Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Review

Hatchling PlanBaby PlanBusiness Plan
Pricing$4.95/month$6.57/month$9.95/month
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other FeaturesUnlimited Parked Domains• Free Upgrade to Positive SSL• Dedicated IP• Free SEO Tools and Domain

Quick Review

  • Availability of Free Domain
  • Easy Signup process
  • Provides Free Site Migration
  • A 45-day money-back guarantee
  • Payment is accepted through credit card or PayPal.
  • Despite unmetered bandwidth and storage, you can’t use over 25% of their system for over 90 seconds.
  • High Renewal rates.
  • Some types of FTP-less sites can’t be migrated by their team
  • There are some upsells.
  • You have to wait for 24-48 hours for your account to be activated
  • Easy to use Control Panel and Dashboard
  • One-click installation for WordPress, Joomla, etc.

Alternative Hostgator Hosting options

Our primary aim is to give the HostGator Cloud Hosting review 2021, we have listed some other hosting options offered by this provider.

You can select other hosting plans if you need a more traditional type of web hosting plan. Look at those alternatives.

Dedicated Server Hosting

Dedicated hosting HostGator Cloud Review

Through this dedicated server, you will get a physical server from HostGator and this will be used only for your site.

This is faster when comparing with the shared hosting or VPS hosting, as they are not sharing any resources, storage, or bandwidth with other websites.

It suits well for a tech-savvy and for those who need more control on their server with good security and flexibility. This will cost a huge amount when you compare it with the Hostgator cloud hosting plans.

You can get the HostGator dedicated servers at:

VPS Hosting

Hostgator VPS hosting plans

You will get more flexible software options with VPS hosting (Virtual Private Servers). Hostgator providing you full root access, which offers you more control in your environment.

VPS hosting is higher version of the shared hosting, but not expensive like dedicated servers. Let’s take a look at the pricing of VPS plans, so you can get an idea as an option against cloud hosting.

The pricing of VPS plans are listed here:-

Shared hosting

Hostgator shared hosting plans

If you are not interested in using the Cloud and have a limited budget, go for the shared hosting by HostGator.

The available plans range from, $2.75 per month, $3.95 per month, and $5.95 per month, respectively.

With this plan, you will be sharing your resources with other websites. Hence, if the other websites meet high traffic, it will affect your metrics too.

Thus, if you want to save more with a good performance, Cloud Hosting is the best option available here. 

Do We Recommend HostGator Cloud Hosting?

Yeah, we recommend HostGator Cloud Hosting, as they are managing a few things well. You will get user-friendly support with them. In addition to this, you can get a good uptime and page loading performance, that can’t be found in other hosts.

Their customer service is also too good. Other than the extra fees and huge renewal rate, this plan is also discounted like their shared options make it a perfect hosting solution.

Conclusion

HostGator is a good web hosting space as per our HostGator Cloud Hosting Review. If you want to get more advantage, you can get the Cloud Hosting plan. 

If you compare this Cloud Hosting with other alternatives, this is the best hosting solution. However, you can go for VPS or dedicated server hosting from HostGator as well.

We hope that our HostGator Cloud Hosting review has helped you. 


Frequently Asked Questions – Hostgator Cloud Hosting Review 2021

What is Hostgator Cloud Hosting?

HostGator Cloud Hosting is an improved version of its shared hosting option. You will get many advantages with this plan that you won’t get with another web hosting service.

Cloud hosting gathers information from multiple virtual server instances of physical servers. HostGator’s Cloud hosting is well known for its flexibility, reliability, and scalability. These factors make this a perfect choice for the businesses and websites which depend on the fast loading times regardless of the high traffic from sales or promotions.

Is Cloud Hosting better?

Cloud Hosting is the best option available with the HostGator. This is the only option which has many additional features for free even at the cheaply available plan.

When should you use Cloud hosting?

This Cloud plan is best suited for organizations who need to have near-perfect uptime and want to grow their servers without any delay. It will give you solid security, and very fast site performance.

Does HostGator have staging?

Yes, HostGator has the staging feature. You can make any changes you want without any fear of erasing or breaking your current website, as it won’t be visible to the public.

Why HostGator Cloud Hosting?

Since 2002, many Web pros and businesses trust their service. With HostGator, you will get everything like domains, hosting, website builder tools in one place. Further, you will get unlimited email addresses, bandwidth, and storage with any plan you get. You will also get a free site transfer for your website.

How Secure Is Cloud Hosting?

Cloud hosting will automatically make multiple copies of your data and distribute it across multiple devices to ensure safety and redundancy. They also have many security measures to protect your site. Their data centres are built with top-of-the-line technology and it is monitored for 24/7 in a highly protected environment.

How Reliable Is Cloud Hosting?

With Cloud Hosts, you will be virtually using the resources of multiple servers and they safeguard you from an individually overwhelmed, or damaged, physical server. They have an integrated part, that it will automatically switch you to another server if their server experiences any hardware issue or overload. 

Why Cloud Vs. Shared Web Hosting?

With Cloud hosts, you can use the resources of multiple servers, rather than being limited to a single server, which is not available over Shared web hosting. You will get access to unlimited expansion and growth of your site by monitoring and adding additional resources easily. Thus, you have the main control on your usage without any obstacles.

I'm Hemant Kumar and BPFY is my world. I have a keen interest in Technology and blogging mostly related to Hosting, Headphones & Speakers.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Best Place For You
      Logo